Getting news from social networks: Turns out I’m not alone

As a young adult, I am sure I am not alone when I say I am on Facebook and Twitter way too much. I use these websites mostly for their intended use which is keeping up with friends and family, posting pictures, things of that nature. But I also don’t think I am the only one who says I get a majority of my news from these social networks.

Besides getting texts from my mother about which celebrity just died, I mostly get my news from Facebook and Twitter. Personally, the news that shows up on my news feed is news that I am interested in. I think this is because it is also the news that my friends are interested in.

Actually, I know I am not a lone on this. Journalism.org did some research about who gets their news from social networks and which networks they are getting them from. It turns out that 52% of Twitter users and 47% of Facebook users get their news from these sites.

Surprisingly, the people getting their news from these cites aren’t even my age! 39% of people aged 30-49 get their news from Facebook, compared to only 34% of people aged 18-29. That study can be found here.

I see stories posted by my friends, or posted by the friends of my friends and usually I will stop wasting time looking at pictures or playing Candy Crush to ready an article.

I have noticed that most of these stories have something to do with social issues. They are usually about things like gay marriage, civil rights, and other social topics. Now that I have actually stopped to think about it, doesn’t it make sense that the news shared on social networks pertains to social issues?

I don’t just read the news that my friends share. On twitter I follow a few reporters from CNN and other network news stations. By following these people on twitter, it makes me feel better about getting my news from social networks.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

