Learning Log #3

By Maxwell Inskeep

The profile project has been a very stressful experience, but at the same time, it has been a very insightful and memorable one. I have been able to get a feel for what it’s like working in the field. Although this is just an assignment for my journalism course, I still found it to be very similar to what it’s like as an actual profession.

Mainly because of the responsibilities and the tasks that go into reporting and journalism were similar to those that I had to complete for this assignment. Finding a subject to study, earning the right to interview other people and getting their “okay” on using their words for my story, overall was s a great learning experience for myself and for anyone who is interested in writing. I found it to be beneficial to my social skills in terms of just putting myself out there and gathering information from people I’ve never even met.

Aside from the stress and pressure within reporting and gathering information for my project, I learned a lot and gained valuable experience through it. There are a lot of small things that go into writing a detailed report on a subject for a profile piece and it taught me that most of the time, you’re not going to write a masterpiece right away, it takes time and precision. Which is why this assignment provided many great opportunities to learn from.

As a result of my profile project, ultimately, I developed a strong connection with my subject, Anna Wischmann, who works for TV-10. She convinced me to apply for a TV-10 position for the spring semester so I am able to get some personal experience within broadcasting and what goes on behind the scenes. I am very interested in being involved with television and the public in the future. TV-10 will benefit me through many different opportunities and allow me to try something new and learn from it. I am glad that I chose to do to my subject on Anna because she ahs the same major as I do and recommended that I join because it would help me and prepare myself better for the future.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

