Job shadow: Emily Miels, entertainment reporter

Since I can remember, I’ve wanted to become a journalist. Journalism has always been on my mind and it’s a dream come true that I can make a career out of writing. I knew that I wanted to do something with current events, but I wasn’t sure what that would entail. So, with the help of Emily Miels, I found the type of writing I’d like to focus in on.

Miels graduated from the University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh. She has a degree in journalism and music business. She had always planned to attend the University of Wisconsin, Eau Claire because that’s where her sister attended college, but she decided that Oshkosh was the best fit for her, personally.

emily-miels

Emily Miels works in her office at the Leader Telegram. ©2017 Jessica Meyen

Before she joined the Leader Telegram, she wrote for a program called Will Write For Food, as a student journalist. She was a part of the New Richmond News as a summer intern in 2012, a Fond du Lac reporter in 2013, and an Advance-Titan editor for 3 years. She even  worked as a social media intern for the Oshkosh Door Company.

One of the most interesting aspects of her preprofessional experiences, in her opinion, was when she went to a homeless shelter in Florida for 3 days. She lived there and reported about particular instances in the shelter and the people that lived there.

In January of 2014 Miels graduated from college and in February of 2014 she got hired as a reporter at the Leader Telegram. In December of 2014 she joined the entertainment section.

The reason I chose to shadow an entertainment reporter, is because that’s what I want to do in the future. And Miels made me certain about my decision.

When I asked her about her job at the Leader Telegram she gave me a plethora of tasks that she deals with on a weekly basis. The list was exhaustive.

She handles 5 entertainment pages per week. She has 3 stories due on Sundays and 2 stories due on Thursdays. She covers all local stories. She even has a weekly event calendar that helps her keep track of everything.

Some of her favorite projects in Eau Claire include covering the music festivals, the community theater shows, and the jazz programs.

I appreciate the opportunity to shadow such an accomplished reporter. I take all of her advice that she gave to heart because she achieved her goal, like I one day hope to achieve my goal.

She acquires her success to her many writing experiences before she went in to the real world. Miels expounds on the importance of internships in the clip.

This entry was posted in #UWEauClaire, Blog Post, CJ222, job shadow, Journalism, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

